IMG_0433

The other half and my nephew don’t like bleu cheese.  They think it’s stinky and tastes funny.  They also dislike horseradish.  These are two of my favorite things especially slathered on a steak and accompanied by a drizzling of steak sauce.  The marriage of pungent, spicy and smoky-sweet make my taste buds tingle.

When I saw this Grilled Rib Eye with Onion Bleu Cheese Sauce  recipe my mouth started to water and I knew instantly that I wanted to try it.  However, there were two obstacles in my path.  The first being that the other people in the house don’t like bleu cheese.  The second being that I am not on a rib eye budget at the moment.

Still, I can afford sirloin.  So, I figured if I tweaked the recipe a little bit and made it more friendly to the the bleu cheese loathers in my way I could, essentially, have my steak and eat it too.

Everyone in the house loves mushrooms.  In the past I have used a mushroom-based sauce for a contemporary Salisbury steak that everyone enjoyed.  So, the idea was to take something familiar and tang it up with a little bit of bleu cheese.  Kind of trick the family into trying something new by putting it into something they have already tested and approved.

Here is my adaption of the recipe.  And by the way, everyone loved it and said they would eat it again.  Even my brother ate it.  He asked what the tang was in the sauce and guessed it was lemon. When I told him it was bleu cheese he looked at me funny because he apparently dislikes the stuff, too.  That didn’t stop him from licking the plate, though.

IMG_0445

Grilled Steak with a Mushroom, Onion and Bleu Cheese Sauce

4-6 small sirloin steaks (about 5 ounces each.) Or you can use whatever you have on hand.  If they are bigger steaks just cut them in half.

1 can Progresso Creamy Portabella Mushroom Recipe Starter

1 cup milk

1 package mushrooms, sliced

1 large onion, thinly sliced

1/2 cup bleu cheese

1 stick butter (4 Tbsp)

2 Tbsp bacon bits or real crumbled bacon

McCormick garlic pepper seasoning grinder (or any garlic pepper seasoning to taste)

McCormick steak house seasoning  grinder (or any steak house seasoning to taste)

pinch of red pepper (about 1/4 tsp)

 

In a pan on medium heat, add the butter and let melt down, then add the mushrooms and onions.  Saute the mushrooms and onions until they are soft.

While the onions and mushrooms are cooking in the pan.  Grill your steaks.  I used our Foreman grill but you can easily use a grill pan or a cast iron pan.  Season your meat to taste.  Let rest for five minutes.

While the steak is resting, add the milk to the sauce and stir everything together.  Lower the heat.  Add bacon bits.  Add garlic pepper and steak house seasonings to taste.  Then stir in the bleu cheese until it melts into the sauce.  Next, add the can of mushroom sauce and pinch of red pepper.  Stir the sauce letting everything meld together.  Add more seasoning if needed.

Put the steak on a plate and spoon liberal amounts of sauce over the top. Enjoy!

 

 

Comments on: "Grilled Steak with a Mushroom, Onion and Bleu Cheese Sauce" (1)

  1. That looks so delicious!

Leave a comment